Proudly housed in a heritage historical building – a converted bakery where you can still see the original loading doors at the front, and horse stable windows at the back – TPM is one of Canada’s most senior, established and influential alternative theatre companies. TPM was founded in 1968 by director and playwright Jim Garrard with the radical intention to create distinctly Canadian Theatre. TPM gained its national reputation in the 1970s under the artistic directorship of Paul Thompson, who guided the company towards a distinctive style of collective creation with plays such as The Farm Show and I Love You, Baby Blue.





In the 1980s, the company was led by Clarke Rogers and Brian Richmond, gifted dramaturges and directors who shiftedthe artistic vision in favour of playwrights: JudithThompson, Linda Griffiths, Thomson Highway and Michel Marc Bouchard are a few examples of playwrights produced at TPM in this era.

Producer Susan Serran changed the dynamic again by encouraging a new generation of now seminal artists: Daniel Brooks, Daniel MacIvor, John Mighton, Jim Millan, Andrew Moodie, Alisa Palmer, James O’Reilly, Nadia Ross, Banuta Rubess and Mary Vingoe all had early plays staged at TPM.






Layne Coleman’s artistic directorship spanned a decade from 1998-2007 and saw the production of 80 new plays either exclusively by TPM, or in partnerships with nearly 40 independent theatre companies.









Andy McKim has been the Artistic Director since June 2007. Drawing from the historic strengths of TPM he put the focus on supporting and presenting independent artists and companies, emerging artists, collaborative and multidisciplinary work, culturally specific and inter-cultural work, and marginal voices.

TPM has been the recipient of 41 Dora Mavor Moore Awards and 9 Chalmers Canadian Play Awards.